News & Events Home Events Calendar


7th Annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day

Abstract award winners named for research day

Abstract award winners have been announced for the 7th Annual Louis C. Littlefield Celebrating Pharmacy Research Excellence Day on Tuesday, April 12.
Winners include:
Professional/Undergraduate Program

Juliana Taliaferro
Faculty Adviser – Kevin N. Dalby, Ph.D.
Division of Medicinal Chemistry
"Development Of JNK2-Selective Peptide Inhibitor That Inhibits Breast Cancer Cell Migration By Employing The TAT-Mediated Effect On JIP-Peptide Activity And Selectivity"

Graduate Program

Jin Huk Choi
Faculty Adviser – Maria A. Croyle, Ph.D.
Division of Pharmaceutics
"A Novel, Non-Invasive Method For Protective Vaccination Against Dangerous Pathogens"

Residency/Postgraduate Programs

G. Christina Caballero
Faculty Adviser – Colleen Barthol, Pharm.D.
Division of Pharmacotherapy
"A Retrospective Review Of Seizure Prophylaxis With Levetiracetam Versus Phenytoin Following Acute Traumatic Brain Injury"

The abstract winners will be featured along with all other abstract submissions during an afternoon poster presentation located in a large tent between Anna Hiss Gym and the Molecular Biology Building.  The day also includes two research lectures in the morning session.  The opening lecture showcases work by one of the college's research faculty members, Dr. Andrea Gore, a professor of pharmacology and toxicology.  Her address will be followed by a presentation by Dr. J. Lyle Bootman, dean of the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy.  The afternoon highlights a display of research poster presentations by pharmacy professional degree students, M.S., Ph.D. and post doctoral researchers as well as pharmacy faculty members.

Gore, the Gustavus and Louise Pfeiffer Professor, directs a research program that focuses on the mechanisms by which the brain controls reproductive development and aging.  The research team studies a group of neurons in the hypothalamus that synthesize and release a peptide, gonadotropin-releasing hormone (GnRH), that is the primary molecule controlling reproductive function.  Her presentation, "Are Environmental Contaminants Making Us Infertile, Fat, and Less Intelligent?" will be presented at 11 a.m. in Room 3.106 of the South Pharmacy Building. 

Following Gore's presentation, the college will welcome Bootman for the keynote scientific lecture, "Health Care Reform and the Empowered Consumer," beginning at 12:15 p.m. in the same room. He is professor of pharmacy, medicine and public health.  He is also a founding director of the Healthcare Transformation Institute (HTI), the first such company launched to truly advance the country's health care system by developing new delivery models in improving patient health care value, patient outcomes, and services. He was selected as one of the 50 most influential pharmacists in the U.S. by American Druggist magazine.

Research day is named in honor of Dr. Louis C. Littlefield, a longtime associate dean and faculty member within the College of Pharmacy and an instrumental faculty member in the establishment of the college's program at the UT Health Science Center at San Antonio.

For more information regarding the day's events, contact the Office of the Associate Dean for Graduate Studies and Research at the College of Pharmacy at (512) 471-4501.

See also: Understanding alternative medicine use: An interview with Saadia Ali

Last Reviewed: April 11, 2011

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z