News & Events Home Events Calendar


Two cited for teaching excellence

Two members of the College of Pharmacy faculty have been recognized by the UT System to receive the Regents' Outstanding Teaching Awards for 2010.

Dr. Patrick Davis, senior associate dean for academic affairs, and Mr. Arlyn Kloesel, distinguished senior lecturer in pharmacy practice, are among the 72 selected from across the system's nine academic institutions to receive the awards.  The recipients were announced Wednesday, August 11. From the 72 system-wide awardees, 34 are from UT Austin.

"It is an exceptional honor that we have two faculty chosen in the same year from a college the size of the UT College of Pharmacy," said Dean Lynn Crismon in announcing the awards to faculty and staff.  The two are the first pharmacy faculty to be named to the awards.

Davis PhotoDavis holds the Eckerd Centennial Professorship in Pharmacy and is a University Distinguished Professor.  In talking about his approach to successful teaching, he said, "Never forget what it was like to be a student – to struggle with a concept, and to be enlightened by someone who truly cared that you understood.  If you've forgotten what it was like, then find a way to be a student again and rediscover why you chose to become an educator in the first place."

His current research efforts are focused in two areas:  (1) the impact of educational technology on teaching and learning in the scientific component of the professional curriculum and (2) the use of computer modeling and computational chemistry in predicting drug metabolism.

Kloesel PhotoKloesel teaches and coordinates a service-learning course for all first year pharmacy students.  The course, Care and Respect for the Elderly, is based on the philosophy of "active learning" and requires each student to provide social support and companionship to an elderly resident in an assisted living environment.

"I love teaching, but this award humbles me because so many excellent teachers surround me in the college and are as deserving," he said.  "Student learning (in his course) is evaluated in small group discussion sessions.  The 'aha!' moments experienced by students are frequent and make teaching an absolute joy.  There is nothing like it."

The college's annual recognition of an outstanding preceptor faculty, the Wm. Arlyn Kloesel Preceptor of the Year Award, is named in his honor.

The UT System Board of Regents established the Regents Outstanding Teaching Award program in 2008 to recognize those who serve students in an exemplary manner and to demonstrate the system's commitment to exceptional performance and innovation in the classroom and undergraduate teaching of the highest order.  Awards, which range from $15,000 to $30,000, are among the highest in the nation for rewarding outstanding undergraduate faculty performance and innovation. 

See related stories:
UT System Announcement of Awards
The Awards Application Process

Last Reviewed: August 19, 2010

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z