News & Events Home Events Calendar


TPA Scholarship Winners

Three College of Pharmacy students have been selected to receive $1,000 scholarships from the Texas Pharmacy Foundation (TPF). The awards will be presented at the Texas Pharmacy Association (TPA) annual meeting and expo scheduled for San Antonio in July.

Whitney Brace will receive a TPF General Scholarship. A total of six scholarships are awarded annually, one to a student at each of the state's six college of pharmacy programs.

Karla Resendiz was named to the Mission Scholarship which is funded by a generous gift from Mission Pharmacal of San Antonio.

Danielle Bailey will receive the Luther and Mary Ann Parker Scholarship. The Parkers have been active in Texas pharmacy for almost four decades. Mr. Parker served as executive director of the TPA, chief executive officer and president of TPF. He was a clinical assistant professor at the UT College of Pharmacy where he taught health care administration, pharmacy law and contemporary pharmacy issues.

TPF annually offers scholarships to pharmacy students at an accredited college in Texas. The amount of the scholarship award depends on the funds available. Pharmacy students entering their second (P2) and third (P3) professional years with a minimum grade point average in required courses of 2.5 on a 4.0 scale are eligible. In addition, the applicant must be a student member of TPA. Students will be judged on financial need and the potential to become a leader in Texas pharmacy, as demonstrated by involvement in pharmacy school and community activities.

Last Reviewed: June 4, 2009

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z