News & Events Home Events Calendar


Longhorn pharmacists honored at TPA meeting

Winners Photo

Three longhorn pharmacists were recognized during the annual meeting of the Texas Pharmacy Association on July 15 in Austin.

The Longhorn honorees included Doug Parker, B.S. '71, recipient, Bowl of Hygeia Award; Mark Zamutt, B.S. '80, recipient, Pharmacist of the Year Award; and Traci Thompson, Pharm.D. '05, Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award. The three were honored during an all alumni reception at the Austin Hilton.

Parker is recipient of the association's Bowl of Hygeia Award that recognizes a pharmacist who has excelled beyond standard job duties to pay back the community through exceptional public service.

He comes from a family of UT pharmacists. His father, Homer Parker, graduated in 1938 from the college and operated Parker's Pharmacy in Seguin. Homer Parker was instrumental in getting two more family members in his generation to enter pharmacy before encouraging his son to follow in his footsteps. Doug Parker purchased the family pharmacy from his dad in 1982. In addition to being the pharmacist-in-charge at Parker's, he consults for several long-term care facilities, assisted living centers, and a surgical center in Seguin. Doug's son, Zachary, Pharm.D. '01, is a staff pharmacist with the family business.

Parker is a life member of the College of Pharmacy Alumni Association. He served as president of the Texas Pharmacy Association in 2000 and was named TPA's pharmacist of the year in 2005. He has served continually as president of the South Central Texas Pharmacy Association since 1982.

Mark Zamutt is recipient of the 2010 Pharmacist of the Year Award. The TPA award recognizes a pharmacist who possesses a record of unquestionable integrity, outstanding service to the local or state association, and a personal record of exemplary service to the pharmacy community.

Zamutt is outpatient pharmacy supervisor for University Medical Center at Austin. He has been active in the pharmacy professional community for 30 years, having served on the TPA Board of Directors representing the Academy of Chain Pharmacy (2000-2001) and as chairman of the TPA House of Delegates (2005). He is a life member of UT's Pharmacy Alumni Association, serving as president of the association in 2006-2007. At UT, he has served on the admissions committee interview team for 10 years. He has also served as a member of the college's preceptor faculty for 22 years.

Traci Thompson is recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award. A 2005 graduate of the college, she is employed at Baylor Medical Center in the Dallas area. The award is presented to a pharmacist that has graduated within 10 years to recognize individual excellence and outstanding contribution to their pharmacy association and community.

Last Reviewed: August 4, 2010

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z