News & Events Home Events Calendar


Alumni Cited for TSHP Awards

Three pharmacy alumni have been tapped to receive honors at the 2012 Annual Seminar of the Texas Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists.

Julie Nelson, B.S. '74 and M.S. '76; Donna Burkett, B.S. '72 and M.S. 2000; and Lance Ray, Pharm.D. '06, are among Texas pharmacists scheduled be honored when TSHP holds its annual meeting, April 11-15 in Dallas.
Nelson will receive the association's highest honor, the Distinguished Service Award.  The honor is presented annually to an individual who has made significant contributions to the practice of health-system pharmacy.  The honoree's contributions to pharmacy practice may be in the form of sustained exemplary service, an outstanding single achievement or a combination of accomplishments promoting and advancing pharmacy.  A candidate for the award must be nominated by past recipients of the award, past presidents of TSHP, affiliated chapters of TSHP or any group of ten TSHP pharmacist members.  Nelson is an Austin attorney in private practice.

Burkett will receive TSHP's Pharmacy Leadership Award, presented annually to a pharmacist who demonstrates leadership and vision in advancing the practice and profession and improving patient care.  Burkett currently serves as clinical associate professor of health outcomes and pharmacy practice within the College of Pharmacy. She has accumulated more than 25 years of experience in hospital pharmacy management.

Ray will be awarded the Pharmacy Mentor Award.  Ray serves as a staff pharmacist for Texas Health Harris Methodist Hospital in Fort Worth.  The mentor award recognizes active involvement in the professional growth and development of other pharmacy practitioners, residents, fellows or students as it relates to the provision of patient care.



Last Reviewed: February 22, 2012

 Visit our Archive of recent
 news stories.

index of the major headings: a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p q r s t u v w x y z