Gender Equity

Council on the Status of Women Faculty

The Council on the Status of Women Faculty was created in the Spring 2013 semester. The purpose of the Council is to provide a forum for discussion of issues relevant to our women faculty. The Council is part of the continuing effort at The University of Texas at Austin to understand and advance the status of women faculty. The Council will meet twice a semester with the Provost and Vice Provost for Gender Equity.


Chair: Janet Ellzey, Vice Provost for Gender Equity

Ex-Officio Members
Andrew Clark, President of the Senate of College Councils
Brian Evans, Chair of the Committee of Counsel on Academic Freedom and Responsibility
Jeanne Freeland-Graves, Chair of the Faculty Women's Organization
Hillary Hart, Chair of Faculty Council Executive Committee
Susan Heinzelman, Director of the Center for Women & Gender Studies
Blinda McClelland, Chair of the Faculty Welfare Committee
Jessica Sentz, Office of Legal Affairs

Regular Members
Lecia Barker, Professor, School of Information
Carolyn Brown, Professor, College of Pharmacy
Leslie Cedar, Executive Director and CEO, Texas Exes
Richard Hazeltine, Professor, College of Natural Sciences
Martha Hilley, Professor, College of Fine Arts
Lynn Katz, Professor, Cockrell School of Engineering
Beth Maloch, Professor, College of Education
Sharon Mosher, Dean, Jackson School of Geosciences
Shelley Payne, Associate Dean, College of Natural Sciences
Esther Raizen, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts
Maggie Rivas Rodriguez, Professor, College of Communication
Michele Rountree, Professor, School of Social Work
Laura Starks, Associate Dean, McCombs School of Business
Alexa Stuifbergen, Dean, School of Nursing
Nichole Wiedemann, Professor, School of Architecture
Bob Wilson, Professor, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs