A. M. Turing Award

The A.M. Turing Award, the ACM's most prestigious technical award, is given for major contributions of lasting importance to computing. Recipients are invited to give the annual A.M. Turing Award Lecture. The award is also accompanied by a cash prize of $250,000, which in recent years has been underwritten by the Intel Corporation and Google, Inc.

This site celebrates all the winners since the award's creation in 1966. It contains biographical information, a description of their accomplishments, straightforward explanations of their fields of specialization, and text or video of their A. M. Turing Award Lecture.

A.M. Turing Award Winners


E. Allen Emerson
Computer Science


Edsger Wybe Dijkstra*
Computer Science


* (deceased)

Visit the A. M. Turing Award Web site.