Institute of Medicine

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) is an independent, nonprofit organization that works outside of government to provide unbiased and authoritative advice to decision makers and the public.

Established in 1970, the IOM is the health arm of the National Academy of Sciences, which was chartered under President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. Nearly 150 years later, the National Academy of Sciences has expanded into what is collectively known as the National Academies, which comprises the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the National Research Council, and the IOM.


The IOM is renowned for its research program, but it is also an honorific organization with more than 1,900 members and foreign associates who donate their time to put their knowledge and expertise to work for the nation’s health.

Each year, the full membership elects up to 70 new members and 10 foreign associates to the IOM. Members are elected for their excellence and professional achievement in a field relevant to the IOM's mission and for their willingness to participate actively in its work. These individuals represent not only the health care professions but also the natural, social, and behavioral sciences, as well as law, administration, engineering, and the humanities.

For those at the top of their field, membership in the IOM reflects the height of professional achievement and commitment to service.


George Georgiou (Molecular Biosciences, Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering) - 2011

Nicholas A. Peppas (Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Pharmaceutics) - 2008

William M. Sage (Law) - 2009



Visit the Institute of Medicine Web site.