National Academy of Engineering

Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

The NAE has more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign associates, senior professionals in business, academia, and government who are among the world’s most accomplished engineers. They provide the leadership and expertise for numerous projects focused on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life.

The NAE is a member of the National Academies, which includes the NAE, the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), the Institute of Medicine (IOM), and the National Research Council (NRC)— which serves as the principal operating arm of the academies. The NAE operates under the same congressional act of incorporation that established the National Academy of Sciences, signed in 1863 by President Lincoln. Under this charter the NAE is directed "whenever called upon by any department or agency of the government, to investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art."

National Academy of Engineering Members

Ivo M. Babuska (Aerospace Engineering) - 2005

Joseph J. Beaman, Jr. (Mechanical Engineering) - 2013

David T. Blackstock (Mechanical Engineering) - 1992

John E. Breen (Civil Engineering) - 1976

Ned H. Burns (Civil Engineering) - 2000

Ben H. Caudle (Petroleum & Geosystems Engineering) - 1988

Harvey G. Cragon (Computer Science) - 1978

Robert E. Dickinson (Geological Sciences) - 2002

James R. Fair* (Chemical Engineering) - 1974

William L. Fisher (Geological Sciences) - 1994

Peter T. Flawn (Geological Sciences) - 1974

Davis L. Ford (Civil Engineering) - 1997

David W. Fowler (Civil Engineering) - 1998

George Georgiou (Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering) - 2005

Earnest F. Gloyna (Civil Engineering) - 1970

John B. Goodenough (Mechanical Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering) - 1976

Adam Heller (Chemical Engineering) - 1987

John R. Howell (Mechanical Engineering) - 2005

Thomas J. R. Hughes (Aerospace Engineering) - 1995

James O. Jirsa (Civil Engineering) - 1988

Keith P. Johnston (Chemical Engineering) - 2011

Stelios Kyriakides (Aerospace Engineering) - 2007

Larry W. Lake (Petroleum & Geosystems Engineering) - 1997

Simon S. Lam (Computer Science) - 2007

Frederick F. Ling (Mechanical Engineering) - 1977

Raymond C. Loehr (Civil Engineering) - 1983

Hans Mark (Aerospace Engineering) - 1976

L. Hudson Matlock (Civil Engineering) - 1982

John J. McKetta, Jr. (Chemical Engineering) - 1970

J. Strother Moore (Computer Science) - 2007

J. Tinsley Oden (Aerospace Engineering) - 1988

Roy E. Olson (Civil Engineering) - 2003

Donald R. Paul (Chemical Engineering) - 1988

Nicholas A. Peppas (Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering) - 2006

Gary A. Pope (Petroleum & Geosystems Engineering) - 1999

Lymon C. Reese* (Civil Engineering) - 1975

Danny David Reible (Environmental Engineering) - 2005

Isaac C. Sanchez (Chemical Engineering) - 1997

Irwin W. Sandberg (Electrical & Computer Engineering) - 1981

Robert S. Schechter*(Chemical Engineering, Petroleum & Geosystems Engineering) - 1976

Kenneth H. Stokoe II (Civil Engineering) - 1997

Ben G. Streetman (Electrical & Computer Engineering) - 1987

Byron D. Tapley (Aerospace Engineering) - 1987

Richard L. Tucker (Civil Engineering) - 1996

C. Michael Walton (Civil Engineering) - 1993

Mary F. Wheeler (Aerospace Engineering) - 1998

Max L. Williams, Jr.* (Aerospace Engineering & Engineering Mechanics) - 2003

C. Grant Willson (Chemical Engineering) - 1992

Sharon L. Wood (Civil Engineering) - 2013

Herbert H. Woodson (Electrical & Computer Engineering) - 1975

Joseph A. Yura (Civil Engineering) - 2000



* (deceased)

Visit the National Academy of Engineering Web site.