The Royal Society

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship of many of the world’s most distinguished scientists drawn from all areas of science, engineering, and medicine. The Society’s fundamental purpose, reflected in its founding Charters of the 1660s, is to recognise, promote, and support excellence in science and to encourage the development and use of science for the benefit of humanity. The Society has played a part in some of the most fundamental, significant, and life-changing discoveries in scientific history and Royal Society scientists continue to make outstanding contributions to science in many research areas. The Royal Society is the national Academy of science in the UK, and its core is its Fellowship and Foreign Membership, supported by a dedicated staff in London and elsewhere. The Fellowship comprises the most eminent scientists of the UK, Ireland and the Commonwealth.

Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science. Each year up to 10 new Foreign Members are elected by existing Fellows. There are currently about 140 Foreign Members. Eligibility to become a Fellow is usually restricted to people who are British or Irish nationals or who are citizens of a Commonwealth country or work in a Commonwealth country. Other candidates who are eminent for their scientific discoveries and attainments are eligible for proposal as candidates for Foreign Membership.

Fellowship of the Royal Society: Fellows and Foreign Members

Alan H. Cowley (Chemistry) - 1988

John B. Goodenough (Mechanical Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering) - 2010

Philip D. Magnus (Chemistry & Biochemistry) - 1985

Steven Weinberg (Physics) - 1981



Visit the The Royal Society Web site.