Center for Asian American Studies
Center for Asian American Studies

Faculty List

Core Faculty


North Cooc

Assistant Professor

ncooc@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7923 |
SZB 532A

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University

Interests: Disabilities and special education, education policy and evaluation, immigration and international education, childhood literacy


Rowena Fong

Professor

rfong@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-1393 |
SSW 3.122G

Education: Ed.D., Harvard University


Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-1667 |
WCH 4.104G

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender


Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu |
512-475-7850 |
GAR 3.106

Education: Ph.D., Yale University

Interests: Migration, Transnationalism and Diaspora, Cold War, and Ethnic Studies.


S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com |
512-475-6031 |
WCH 4.134

Education: Ph.D., Harvard University


Madhavi Mallapragada

Associate Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-9239 |
CMA 6.128C

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: online articulations of racialized, brown, and transnational cultural identities within a South Asian American contex


Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor

rmo@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-7279 |
WCH 5.134

Education: Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests: Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology


Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu |
512-232-6310 |
CLA 3.628

Education: Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests: Comparative Race and Ethnicity, Feminist Theory, Labor, Immigration, and Citizenship.


Photo of Snehal Shingavi

Snehal Shingavi

Associate Professor

snehal.shingavi@utexas.edu |
512-471-8114 |
PAR 27

Education: Ph.D., 2008, University of California, Berkeley

Interests: Anglophone South Asian literature, Hindi/Urdu literature, Literature in Translation and Translation Theory, Theories of “the nation” (anticolonialism, nationalism, statism, postcolonialism, postnationalism, cosmopolitanism, globalization, transnationalism, internationalism), Classical Marxism


Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-5811 |
WCH 4.130

Education: Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University


Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department; Faculty Fellow, Institute for Urban Policy Research & Analysis; Division of Diversity and Community Engagement

erictang@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-4380 |
​​BLS 3.136

Education: Ph.D., 2006, American Studies, New York University

Interests: Racism & Anti-racism; The Poetics of Displacement; Urban unrest; Activist research


Sam Vong

Assistant Professor

svong@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., 2013, Yale University


Affiliated Faculty


Mia Carter

Faculty

miaC@austin.utexas.edu |
512-471-8733 |
PAR 123

Education: Ph.D., English and Modern Studies, 1992, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee


Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu |
512-471-4952 |
CMA 6.136

Education: Ph.D., University of Toronto


Miyong Kim

Professor | Associate Vice President for Community Health Engagement | La Quinta Centennial Endowed Professor

mkim@nursing.utexas.edu |
NUR 5.141


Photo of Su Yeong Kim

Su Yeong Kim

Associate Professor

projectfamily@gmail.com |
512-471-5524 |
SEA 2.322C

Education: Ph.D. HDFS, University of California, Davis


Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu |
512-232-3498 |
CMA 5.124

Education: Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington


Photo of Amy Liu

Amy Liu

Assistant Professor

amy.liu@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., Emory University


Beili Liu

Associate Professor

beili@austin.utexas.edu |
512–471–6071 |
ART 4.414

Education: MFA, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor


Teaching Affiliates


Aarti Bhalodia

Lecturer

bhalodia@austin.utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin


Alexander Cho

Lecturer

alexcho47@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., Media Studies, University of Texas at Austin

Interests: Social Media, Mobile Media, Affect, Cultural Anthropology, Youth Digital Media Cultures, Ethnography, Queer Studies, Queer of Color Critique, Critical Race Theory, Asian American Studies, Cultural Studies


Photo of Peter Hamilton

Peter Hamilton

Lecturer

peter.hamilton@utexas.edu

Education: Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin, B.A, Yale College


Susan Mays

Lecturer

smays@utexas.edu |
BUR 562

Education: PhD and MA, Columbia and Harvard


Photo of Sheela Jane Menon

Sheela Jane Menon

Assistant Instructor

sjmenon@utexas.edu |
FAC 16


Curran Nault

Lecturer

currannault@gmail.com

Education: Ph.D., University of Texas - Austin

Interests: Independent and experimental media; Asian American cinema; punk aesthetics and practices; discourses of the body; and theories of feminism, sexuality and race.