Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
ams masthead
Steven Hoelscher, Chair Burdine 437, Mailcode B7100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-7277

Core Faculty

Professors

Photo of Robert H. Abzug

Robert H. Abzug

Professor, Audre and Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair of Jewish Studies & Director of Schusterman Center for Jewish Studies

zug@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7240  |  GAR 2.108

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1977, University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  American Cultural and Intellectual History, American Jewish History and Culture, History of the Holocaust & Jewish Studies, History of Psychology, History of American Religion, History of Photography, Antebellum America

Photo of Cary Cordova

Cary Cordova

Assistant Professor

cordova@mail.utexas.edu  |  (512) 232-4582  |  BUR 418

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  American Studies, Latino Studies, Art History / Visual Culture, Urban Studies, and Ethnic Studies; the interconnectivity of art, politics, place, and public policy; Latina/o cultural production, including art, music, and the performing arts, and social movements

Photo of Janet M. Davis

Janet M. Davis

Associate Professor

janetmdavis@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1848  |  BUR 432

Education   

Ph.D., History, University of Wisconsin (Madison)

Interests

  U.S. cultural and social history; popular culture; social thought; animal studies; women’s and gender history; U.S. social movements; modern South Asia

Photo of Elizabeth Engelhardt

Elizabeth Engelhardt

Professor

e.engelhardt@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-2707  |  BUR 416

Education   

Ph.D., Women's Studies, 1999, Emory University

Interests

  food studies, feminist theories, ecological literature and culture, Appalachian Studies, Southern Studies, material culture studies, the intersections of race, class, and gender in American literature and society

Photo of Nicole Guidotti-Hernández

Nicole Guidotti-Hernández

Associate Professor

ngh24@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6313  |  BUR 422

Education   

Ph.D., Cornell University

Interests

  Borderlands History after 1846, Transnational Feminist Methodologies, Chicano and Latino Studies, Popular Culture and Immigration

Photo of Steven D Hoelscher

Steven D Hoelscher

Department Chair, Professor, Academic Curator for Photography, Harry Ransom Center

hoelscher@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2567  |  BUR 430

Education   

Ph.D., Geography, 1995, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Interests

  Photography, Cultural and Historical Geography; Urban Studies; Memory; Ethnicity and Race

Photo of Randolph Lewis

Randolph Lewis

Professor

randolph.lewis@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7783  |  BUR 410

Education   

Ph.D., American Studies, 1994, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  surveillance culture, cinema studies, documentary expression, indigenous media, the intersection of art and politics broadly conceived, creative nonfiction/experimental scholarship, digital humanities, unorthodox urban studies, public scholarship, film and video production

Photo of Stephen H Marshall

Stephen H Marshall

Associate Professor

stephenmarshall@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-4361  |  BUR 412, BEL 242

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Government, Harvard University

Interests

  Political Theory, American Social and Political Thought, African-American political thought

Photo of Jeffrey L Meikle

Jeffrey L Meikle

Stiles Professor in American Studies

meikle@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-2166  |  BUR 424

Education   

Ph.D., American Studies, 1977, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  History of design, technology, and architecture; postmodernity; alternative cultures.

Photo of Mark C. Smith

Mark C. Smith

Associate Professor

mcsmith@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2015  |  BUR 428

Education   

Ph.D., American Studies, 1980, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  the history of social science, the cultural history of alcohol and drugs

Photo of Shirley E. Thompson

Shirley E. Thompson

Associate Professor

s.thompson@mail.utexas.edu  |  BUR 426

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, History of American Civilization, Harvard University

Interests

  African American and African Diaspora Studies; Nineteenth Century US Cultural History; Law and Literature; Slavery and Post-Emancipation Cultures; Cultural Memory

Associate Professors

Photo of Julia Mickenberg

Julia Mickenberg

Associate Professor

mickenberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  BUR 420

Education   

Ph. D., University of Minnesota

Interests

  History of the Left/Radical Cultures, Children's Literature, Women's History, History of Childhood, Russian Studies, Americans abroad, utopia

Lecturers

Karen R King

Lecturer

k.rking@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-9016

Education   

Ph. D., The University of Texas at Austin

Professors Emeriti

Photo of Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Alfred W. Crosby Jr.

Professor Emeritus

crosby@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7277

Education   

Ph.D., 1961, Boston University

Douglas Foley

Professor

dfoley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3929

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

William M Stott

Professor Emeritus, American Studies and English

wstott@mail.utexas.edu  |  Skype "billstott"

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, Yale University

Interests

  documentary, journalism, autobiography

Affiliate Faculty

Photo of Ricardo Ainslie

Ricardo Ainslie

Professor

rainslie@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0364

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Anthony Alofsin

Professor

alofsin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8156

Photo of Phillip J Barrish

Phillip J Barrish

Associate Professor

pbarrish@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7840  |  PAR 130

Education   

Ph.D., 1991, Cornell University
Photo of Daniel A Bonevac

Daniel A Bonevac

Professor

bonevac@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4857

Education   

PhD, Pittsburgh
Photo of Jason Borge

Jason Borge

Faculty

jason.borge@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Henry W. Brands

Henry W. Brands

Professor

hwbrands@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Brian A Bremen

Brian A Bremen

Associate Professor

bremen@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7842  |  Parlin 127

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Princeton University

Interests

  American Literature, Modernism, the Digital Humanities, writers of the Harlem Renaissance, and Literary Theory.

Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Assistant Professor

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Erika M. Bsumek

Erika M. Bsumek

Associate Professor

embsumek@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3261

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, Rutgers University
Photo of Craig Campbell

Craig Campbell

Assistant Professor

craig.campbell@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Alberta

Charlotte Canning

Professor

charlottecanning@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5793

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington
Photo of Evan B Carton

Evan B Carton

Professor

e.carton@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8916

Education   

Ph.D., 1979, Johns Hopkins University

Kate Catterall

Associate Professor

katecat@utexas.edu  |  512-471-0902

Sally H. Clarke

Professor

sclarke@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7241  |  Garrison 3.114

Education   

Ph.D., 1987, Brown University
Photo of Matt Cohen

Matt Cohen

Associate Professor

matt.cohen@utexas.edu  |  Parlin 20

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, College of William and Mary
Photo of James H. Cox

James H. Cox

Associate Professor

jhcox@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7804

Education   

Ph.D., University of Nebraska at Lincoln
Photo of Ann Cvetkovich

Ann Cvetkovich

Professor

cvet@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1988, Cornell University

O.L. Davis

Professor Emeritus

oldavisjr@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3512

Mercedes Lynn De Uriarte

Associate Professor

merlyn@utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D. in American Studies, Yale

Diana DiNitto

Professor

ddinitto@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9227

Photo of Richard R. Flores

Richard R. Flores

Professor

flores@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9209

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Douglas Foley

Professor

dfoley@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3929

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of William Forbath

William Forbath

Professor

wforbath@law.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1326

Photo of John Morán González

John Morán González

Associate Professor

jmgonzal@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8117  |  PAR 321

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Latino/a Literature; Chicano/a Literature; Late Nineteenth-Century American Literature; Narrative Theory; Postcolonial Studies

Photo of Samuel D Gosling

Samuel D Gosling

Professor

samg@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Don B Graham

Don B Graham

Professor

dgbb@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8387

Education   

Ph.D., 1971, University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Laurie B. Green

Laurie B. Green

Associate Professor

lbgreen@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7245

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Chicago
Photo of Sabine Hake

Sabine Hake

Professor

hake@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6379  |  BUR 332

Photo of John Hartigan

John Hartigan

Professor

johnhartigan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9201

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz

Linda Henderson

Professor

dnehl@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-2474

Education   

Ph. D., Yale University
Photo of Bruce J. Hunt

Bruce J. Hunt

Associate Professor

bjhunt@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6109  |  GAR 2.106

Education   

Ph.D., 1984, Johns Hopkins University

Interests

  History of science and technology

Photo of Coleman Hutchison

Coleman Hutchison

Associate Professor

coleman.hutchison@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8372  |  CAL 314

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, Northwestern University

Interests

  U.S. literature and culture to 1900; poetry; print culture; the U.S. south; the American Civil War

Photo of Jacqueline Jones

Jacqueline Jones

Professor

jjones@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7235

Education   

Ph.D., 1976, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Photo of Meta D Jones

Meta D Jones

Assistant Professor

metadj@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2001, Stanford University
Photo of Martin W Kevorkian

Martin W Kevorkian

Associate Professor

mkevorkian@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8797

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, University of California Los Angeles
Photo of Anne M. Martínez

Anne M. Martínez

Assistant Professor

ammtz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7268

Education   

Ph.D., University of Minnesota

Interests

  Mexican Americans, religion, migration, nation

Photo of Gretchen Murphy

Gretchen Murphy

Professor

gretchen@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8532

Education   

Ph.D., 1999, University of Washington

Neil R Nehring

Associate Professor

neilnehring@sbcglobal.net  |  512-471-8713

Education   

Ph.D., 1985, University of Michigan
Photo of David M. Oshinsky

David M. Oshinsky

Professor

oshinsky@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 1971, Brandeis University
Photo of Deborah Paredez

Deborah Paredez

Associate Professor

paredez@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7370

Education   

Ph.D., Northwestern University
Photo of Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez

Maggie Rivas-Rodriguez

Faculty

mrivas@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Rebecca Rossen

Rebecca Rossen

Assistant Professor

r-rossen@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7153

Education   

Ph.D.(2006), Northwestern University
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Thomas Schatz

Professor

tschatz@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5987

Photo of Chad Seales

Chad Seales

Assistant Professor

seales@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Suzanne Seriff

Suzanne Seriff

Senior Lecturer

sseriff@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Cherise Smith

Cherise Smith

Associate Professor

cherise_smith@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Denise A. Spellberg

Associate Professor

spellberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7202  |  GAR 3.208

Education   

Ph.D., 1989, Columbia University
Photo of Janet Staiger

Janet Staiger

Professor

jstaiger@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6653

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1981

Thomas F Staley

Professor

tfs@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9111

Education   

Ph.D., 1962, University of Pittsburgh

Paul Stekler

Professor

stek@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6679

Photo of Kathleen C. Stewart

Kathleen C. Stewart

Professor

kstewart@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8521

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of Pauline Strong

Pauline Strong

Director of Humanities Institute, Professor of Anthropology, Professor of Women's and Gender Studieslogy

pstrong@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8524  |  SAC 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Cultural, historical, feminist anthropology. Identity and difference. Politics of representation. Public culture. Youth organizations. Museum studies. US, Indigenous North America.

Sharon L. Strover

Professor

sstrover@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-6652

Education   

Ph. D., Stanford University
Photo of Eric Tang

Eric Tang

Assistant Professor

erictang@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, American Studies, New York University

Janice S. Todd

Professor

jan@starkcenter.org  |  512-471-4890

Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6331  |  BUR 462

Education   

Ph.D., New York University
Photo of Leo E. Zonn

Leo E. Zonn

Professor

zonn@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1586

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
bottom border