Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
asianstudies masthead
Dr. Martha Selby, Chair 120 INNER CAMPUS DR STOP G9300 WCH 4.134 78712-1251 • 512-471-5811

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Sung-Sheng (Yvonne) Chang

Professor

yvonne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6036  |  WCH 4.124

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Chinese film and literature

Photo of Indrani Chatterjee

Indrani Chatterjee

Professor

ichatterjee@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7252  |  GAR 3.412

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1996, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London
Photo of Sumit Guha

Sumit Guha

Professor

sguha@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7236   |  GAR 2.140

Education   

Ph.D., History, 1981, University of Cambridge
Photo of Huaiyin Li

Huaiyin Li

Professor

hli@utexas.edu  |  512-475-7910  |  GAR 3.202

Education   

Ph.D., 2000, University of California, Los Angeles

Interests

  Modern Chinese history; Contemporary Chinese economy, society, and politics; imperial China; gender and family; agrarian studies; Chinese culture and religions; and comparative studies of development and globalization.

Photo of Mark Metzler

Mark Metzler

Professor

mmetzler@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7262  |  GAR 3.404

Education   

Ph.D., 1998, University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Gail Minault

Gail Minault

Professor

gminault@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-7214  |  GAR 3.118

Education   

Ph.D., 1972, University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  History of India and Pakistan; women's history, history of Islamic art

Photo of Paula Newberg

Paula Newberg

Professor

pnewberg@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-7270  |  BATS 4.102

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Stephen Phillips

Stephen Phillips

Professor

phillips@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-5080  |  WAG 301

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Indian Philosophy; philosophy of religion; theory of value

Photo of Martha Selby

Martha Selby

Professor

mas@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6040  |  WCH 4.134A

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Representations of women, birth, and disease in classical Indian medicine. Sanskrit poetry and poetics, Prakrit and Old Tamil poetry, and Sanskrit medical literature.

Photo of Rupert Snell

Rupert Snell

Professor and Director of Hindi Urdu Flagship Program

rupertsnell@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7955  |  WCH 4.104C

Education   

Ph.D., University of London

Interests

  Poetics and aesthetics in pre-modern Hindi; poetry in Braj Bhasha and Awadhi dialects.

Photo of John W. Traphagan

John W. Traphagan

Professor of Religious Studies, Centennial Commission in the Liberal Arts Fellow #2

jtrap@utexas.edu  |  512-232-0874  |  BUR 520

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Interests

  Medical anthropology | science, technology and culture | family and kinship | religion and ritual

Associate Professors

Photo of Kamran Asdar Ali

Kamran Asdar Ali

Associate Professor

asdar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7531, 471-3550  |  SAC 5.126

Education   

Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Photo of Joel Brereton

Joel Brereton

Associate Professor

jpb@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6024  |  WCH 4.122

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Sanskrit; Religious studies, Asian religions, Vedic studies

Photo of Kirsten Cather

Kirsten Cather

Associate Professor

kcather@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0031  |  WCH 4.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Censorship of literature and film in modern Japan, modern adaptations of premodern Japanese literature, suicide and death in modern Japan.

Donald R Davis

Associate Professor

drdj@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7921  |  WCH 4.114

Education   

PhD, University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Sanskrit; Dharmaśāstra; Law and Religion; Medieval India; Malayalam

Photo of Oliver Freiberger

Oliver Freiberger

Associate Professor

of@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8239  |  WCH 4.104A

Education   

Ph.D., Georg-August-Universität Göttingen, Germany

Interests

  Indian Buddhism | asceticism | comparison in the study of religion

Lalitha Gopalan

Associate Professor

lalitha.gopalan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4071  |  CMA 6.118

Photo of Heather Hindman

Heather Hindman

Associate Professor

h.hindman@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1667  |  WCH 4.104G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Critical development, entrepreneurialism, expatriate communities, social theory, global labor and gender

Photo of Madeline Y. Hsu

Madeline Y. Hsu

Associate Professor; Center for Asian American Studies

myhsu@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-9469  |  GAR 3.222

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University

Interests

  Asian American studies, migration, transnationalism, and ethnic studies

S. Akbar Hyder

Associate Professor

syedakbarhyder@gmail.com  |  512-475-6031  |  WCH 4.104E

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Interests

  Islam in South Asia, Urdu language and literature, Aesthetics in South Asian and the Middle East.

Shanti Kumar

Associate Professor

shantikumar@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3498  |  CMA 5.124

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University-Bloomington

Janice Leoshko

Associate Professor

jleoshko@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-2581  |  DFA 2.130

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Interests

  South and Southeast Asian art history and Buddhist art

Photo of Patricia Maclachlan

Patricia Maclachlan

Associate Professor

pmaclachlan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-1724  |  BAT 3.150

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Interest group behavior in Japan; Japanese postal politics and reform; consumerism in advanced industrial democracies; comparative political institutions.

Robert M Oppenheim

Associate Professor, Director of Center for East Asian Studies

rmo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-7279  |  WCH 5.134

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Korean anthropology and history; science/tech/society; heritage; objects/materiality; history of anthropology

Photo of Nancy K. Stalker

Nancy K. Stalker

Associate Professor

nancy.stalker@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6044  |  WCH 4.130

Education   

Ph.D., 2002, Stanford University

Interests

  20th-century cultural history, new religious movements, gender

Photo of Cynthia Talbot

Cynthia Talbot

Associate Professor

ctalbot@austin.utexas.edu  |  (512) 475-7229  |  GAR 3.406

Education   

PhD, 1988, University of Wisconsin at Madison

Interests

  Medieval and early modern history of South Asia

Photo of Kamala Visweswaran

Kamala Visweswaran

Associate Professor

kvis@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-8516  |  SAC 5.156

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Women's movements in South Asia, human rights, Subaltern Studies, Transnational and Diaspora studies, feminist ethnography, and Indian literature in translation

Assistant Professors

Madhavi Mallapragada

Assisant Professor

madhavim@austin.utexas.edu  |  512 471 9239  |  CMA 5.148

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Youjeong Oh

Assistant Professor

youjeong@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6032  |  WCH 5.120A

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Interests

  Urban processes in Korea and East Asia; Korean popular culture; Gender and space

Photo of David M Sena

David M Sena

Assistant Professor

dsena@utexas.edu  |  512-471-7965  |  WCH 5.104C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  Early Chinese history, language, and culture

Photo of Chien-hsin Tsai

Chien-hsin Tsai

Assistant Professor

tsai@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1302  |  WCH 5.104B

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Yukie Aida

Yukie Aida

Senior Lecturer

aiday@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6049  |  WCH 5.110

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Japanese language pedagogy / students beliefs about their own language performances

Photo of Edeltraud Harzer

Edeltraud Harzer

Senior Lecturer

harzer@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-3575  |  WCH 5.135

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington

Interests

  Sanskrit, Indian philosophy and literature

Photo of Camilla H Hsieh

Camilla H Hsieh

Senior Lecturer

camilla@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6046  |  WCH 5.132

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas

Interests

  Chinese language pedagogy

Chiu-Mi Lai

Senior Lecturer

cmlai@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6054  |  WCH 5.112

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington
Photo of Afsar Mohammad

Afsar Mohammad

Senior Lecturer

afsar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1843  |  WCH 5.136

Education   

Ph.D, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Kyung Park

Kyung Park

Senior Lecturer

pkyung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6045  |  WCH 5.130

Education   

MA, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea

Interests

  Korean Language

Photo of Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Sankaran Radhakrishnan

Senior Lecturer

radha@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6048  |  WCH 5.103

Education   

Ph.D., Annamalai University

Interests

  Tamil language (modern and classical) and literatures (modern and classical); south Indian culture/history; Tamil teaching/learning material production

Gautami Shah

Senior Lecturer

gshah@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6033  |  WCH 4.104GA

Education   

M.S., Purdue University

Interests

  Language pedagogy (Hindi); Contemporary South Asian literature with a focus on communal conflicts, gender issues, caste, religion and immigrant experiences; Curriculum development; Innovative use of technology in language teaching; Program development; Less commonly taught languages

Jishnu Shankar

Senior Lecturer

jshankar@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1219  |  WCH 4.104B

Education   

Doctorate, Syracuse University

Interests

  Aghor Tradition of India; Comparing Religious Practices in South Asian Traditions

Photo of Naoko Suito

Naoko Suito

Senior Lecturer

n.suito@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8497  |  WCH 5.105

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas

Interests

  Japanese language; Curriculum and Instruction, Instructional Technology

Photo of Wen-Hua Teng

Wen-Hua Teng

Senior Lecturer

whteng@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6047  |  WCH 5.128

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Pedagogical grammar of Chinese; curriculum design; technology-enhanced CFL pedagogy

Lecturers

Photo of Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Chih-Wei (Elsa) Chang

Lecturer

elsa.chang@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6041  |  WCH 5.116

Education   

MA, Univeristy of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Chinese language

Vidhu Chaturvedi

Lecturer

vidhu@austin.utexas.edu  |  Work: 512-471-0304, Cell: 512-924-4630  |  WCH 5.114 (NOTE : I am usually to be found at WCH 4.104 (Hindi Urdu Flagship, main hall); rather than at WCH 5.114 (my chamber )

Education   

MA, Banaras Hindu University, (Varanasi, India)

Interests

  1.Preparation of all kinds of Instructional Materials, 2. Vocabularies (Love words, nuances of their meanings and usage), 3. Classical and Popular Hindi Films, especially from 1940s, 50s, 60s and 70s having interesting linguistic features 4. Popular and Classical Hindi Literature and 5. Language in the Socio Cultural Context and 6. Influence of Socio-Cultural Environment in the Formation, Structure and Expressions of Language.

Photo of Jeanette C Chen

Jeanette C Chen

Lecturer

jeanettechen@utexas.edu  |  512-475-6041  |  WCH 5.116

Interests

   Languages

Chikako H Cooke

Lecturer

hirayama_cooke@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-1843  |  WCH 5.136

Photo of Shahnaz Hassan

Shahnaz Hassan

Lecturer

snzhasan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0304  |  WCH 5.114

Education   

B.A., University of the Punjab

Interests

  Urdu language and literature

Junko Hatanaka

Lecturer

jhatanaka@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6042  |  WCH 5.124

Education   

MA in Japanese, MS in Rhetoric and Technical Communications, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Michigan Technological University

Akemi Katayama

Lecturer

akataya@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6043  |  WCH 5.126

Education   

MA, 2012, MA, 1996, The University of Alberta, Portland State University

Interests

  Second language acquisition and language pedagogy

Yi-Chun Lin

Lecturer

yichunlin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6042  |  WCH 5.124

Education   

M.A., Graduate Institute of Teaching Chinese as a Second Language, National Taiwan Normal University.

Darsana Manayathu Sasi

Lecturer

darsana@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6043  |  WCH 5.126

Sang-Hoon Park

Lecturer

shoony@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6045  |  WCH 5.130

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Tomoko Sakuma

Lecturer

t.sakuma@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6041  |  WCH 5.116

Education   

Ph. D., University of Texas at Austin

Midori Tanaka

Lecturer

midori@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7104  |  WCH 5.138

Education   

MA, University of Oregon

Interests

  Japanese language and linguistics; pedagogy

Professors Emeriti

Photo of James Brow

James Brow

Professor Emeritus

jbrow@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington
Photo of Kathryn Hansen

Kathryn Hansen

Professor Emeritus

kgh@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6035  |  WCH 5.104A

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Photo of Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Robert Hardgrave, Jr.

Louann and Larry Temple Centennial Professor Emeritus in the Humanities

rlh@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Interests

  South Asia: domestic and international politics (India specialty), comparative ethnic conflict, British India: European images and artists' representation.

Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Professor Emeritus

rking@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-923-3502  |  CAL 507

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests

  Sociolinguistics of India

Richard W Lariviere

Professor Emeritus

rwlariviere@ku.edu  |  471-4141  |  GEB 3.200

Interests

  Sanskrit

Photo of Rodney Moag

Rodney Moag

Associate Prof Emeritus

rmoag@mail.utexas.edu

Photo of Patrick Olivelle

Patrick Olivelle

Professor Emeritus

jpo@uts.cc.utexas.edu  |  512-475-6032  |  WCH 5.120A

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Sanskrit; Ancient Indian religious history

Photo of Herman Van Olphen

Herman Van Olphen

Professor Emeritus

hvo@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Hindi Language and linguistics; language and nationalism

Other Retired Faculty

Madhavan Unnithan

Lecturer

unnithan@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7104  |  WCH 5.138

Education   

Ph.D., University of Kerala

Interests

  Malayalam

bottom border