Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
asianstudies masthead
Dr. Martha Selby, Chair 120 INNER CAMPUS DR STOP G9300 WCH 4.134 78712-1251 • 512-471-5811

Department of Asian Studies Honors Undergraduates in Annual Spring Festival

Posted: April 5, 2013

On April 3, 2013, the Department of Asian Studies honored its undergraduates during the annual Spring Festival. The following students are recipients of scholarships and awards recognizing their academic achievements.  Congratulations everyone!



Aggarwal Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Indian Studies

Florence Kerns


Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowship Award

Farhana Maredia


Hindi-Urdu Flagship/College of Liberal Arts Scholarship

Sophia Anwar


Mahatma Gandhi Memorial Scholarship

Sophia Anwar and Mirusha Yogarajah


Peter Vlach Memorial Scholarship in Liberal Arts

Lefteri Christodulelis, Henry Legg, and Sam Strum,


Critical Language Scholarship

Steven Burt, Christie Nguyen, and William Yates


China Studies Scholarship for Study Abroad (Fall winners)

Adrian Gonzalez and Emily You 


China Studies Scholarship for Study Abroad (Spring winners)

Benjamin Parker, Dillon Kolacz, and Monica Mancera


Mitsubishi Study Abroad Scholarship (Fall winners)

Alaina Cox and Sandi Gau 


Mitsubishi Study Abroad Scholarship (Spring winners)

Jessica Hernandez and Alyssa Savoie


POSCO Korean Studies Scholarship

Chloe Cauley, Cherry Chang, Rebecca Haar, Conner Morgan, and Katherine Younke


Bill and Tomiko Kennedy Memorial Endowed Presidential Scholarship

Jessica Briseno 


Louise J. Faurot Memorial Endowed Presidential Scholarship in Chinese Studies

Robert Van Patten


Huayu Enrichment Scholarship

Karson Elmgren and Caleb Williams


Korean Language Achievement Award

Amy Douvry, Joseph Hoang, and Emily Wang


Outstanding Chinese Language Students

Benjamin Parker and Caleb Williams


Outstanding Japanese Language Students

Wanlin Cai, Cody James Carroll, Simin Sharline Chen, Melissa Dobbs, and Julia Napier


Best Japan Studies Student

Colin Baker


Outstanding Sanskrit Language Student

Emma Garcia 


Urdu Language Achievement Award

Sophia Anwar, Madiha Haque, and Joe Pappano


Hindi Language Achievement Award

Carson Key Carruth, Xan Ingram, and Thientam Pham


Japanese National Honors Society

Rick Riley Calderon, Carissa Ford, Mathieu Glacet, Betsy Lessels, Jivan Luu, Julia Napier, and Christopher Paul




Congratulations to all students for their outstanding achievements!



bottom border