Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
economics masthead
Jason Abrevaya, Chair 2225 Speedway, Stop C3100, Austin, TX 78712 • Admin: 512-471-3211 & Advising: 512-471-2973

Archived News

Tue, Dec 13, 2005

Ph.D. Candidate wins research competition

Andres Vargas awarded first prize for outstanding research project

Fri, Dec 9, 2005

The 11th Annual Texas Econometrics Camp

February 25-26, 2006

Thu, Dec 8, 2005

122nd Fall Commencement

Ceremonies and Celebrations • Friday, December 9 - Sunday, December 11, 2005

Mon, Nov 7, 2005

Honor student receives Rapoport-King Thesis Scholarship for Senior Thesis

Jahiz Barlas is a junior majoring in Pure/Statistical Mathematics and Economics Honors.

Wed, Oct 26, 2005

Honor student receives Edmond Thorton Miller Endowed Presidential Scholarship

Mariesa Herrmann, a senior majoring in Plan II and Economics Honors

Wed, Oct 19, 2005

Two graduate students are awarded the Leonardo Pina Research Paper Award

Garth Heutel and Jennifer Steele

Thu, Sep 1, 2005

An Economics Lesson

Don Fullerton's reaction to the peak oil scenario is one of generalized skepticism

Thu, Sep 1, 2005

Spring 2006 Courses offerings in Economics.

Current and Past course descriptions for the Economics department may be found online.

Mon, Jun 6, 2005

Time Crunch or Yuppie Kvetch?

A professor in the Department of Economics finds the more money people have, the more pressed for time they'll be as they try to find ways to spend it all

Tue, May 24, 2005

Liberal arts student builds a stronger future for Nigeria

Busola Ogunsola is working on a much larger scale in Lagos

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

Economics staff participates in RecSports Poker Walk

In celebration of National Employee Health and Fitness Day

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

Glenn Loury, 2005 Economics Commencement Speaker

From Boston University, Department of Economics

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

First year doctoral student awarded a two year scholarship

Under the 2005/2007 Japan-IMF Scholarship Program for Advanced Studies

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

The University of Texas at Austin's graduate programs rank among nation's best

U.S. News and World Report magazine survey

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

Department of Economics Honors Symposium 2005

April 27th, 2005

Tue, Mar 29, 2005

2005-2006 Career Expo

Translating a Liberal Arts Education into a World of Opportunities

Thu, Mar 17, 2005

An Old Male Economist's Advice to Young Female Economists

by Daniel S. Hamermesh

Tue, Mar 1, 2005

The Price of Professional Football

Stephen G. Bronars: Economics professor specializes in the study of labor unions

Tue, Mar 1, 2005

2005-2006 Liberal Arts competitive scholarships: March 1 deadline

Applications are now available

Tue, Feb 22, 2005

Professor Kenneth Hendricks was recently elected a fellow of the Econometric Society

The James L. and Nancy Powell Centennial Professor

Tue, Jan 25, 2005

Summer program in Milan, Italy

Department sponsored five-week intensive study abroad program

bottom border