Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
history masthead
Jacqueline Jones, Chair 128 Inner Campus Dr., Stop B7000, GAR 1.104 Austin, TX 78712-1739 • 512-471-3261

History professor's book selected as Honorable mention for the 2009 Lincoln Prize

Posted: May 13, 2009

The Civil War Institute at the college is responsible for administering the award. A three-person jury selects the best non-fiction historical work published on the American Civil War each year.

The Lincoln Prize was established in 1990 at Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pa. It is endowed by Richard Gilder and Lewis Lehrman.

Jones' book also won the 2009 Malcolm Bell Jr. and Muriel Barrow Bell Award for the best book in Georgia history published in 2008. The Georgia Historical Society honors each year those authors whose books preserve Georgia history.

Prof. Jacqueline Jones
Lincoln Prize and the 2009 recipients
Georgia Historical Society

bottom border