Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
linguistics masthead linguistics masthead
Richard P. Meier, Chair CLA 4.304, Mailcode B5100, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-471-1701

Faculty List

Professors

Photo of David I Beaver

David I Beaver

Professor, Director of the Cognitive Science Program

dib@utexas.edu  |  471-9028  |  CLA 4.708

Education   

PhD, Edinburgh
Photo of Nora C. England

Nora C. England

Dallas TACA Centennial Professor in the Humanities

nengland@mail.utexas.edu  |  512.471.9014  |  CLA 4.732

Education   

Ph.D., University of Florida

Interests

  linguistic description, grammar writing, language and identity, language politics, language ideologies, Mayan linguistics, American languages

Photo of Ian Hancock

Ian Hancock

Harold C. and Alice T. Nowlin Regents Professor in Liberal Arts

xulaj@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-7684  |  CAL 420

Education   

Ph.D., London University

Interests

  Romani; Creole; English; Human rights

Hans Kamp

Visiting Professor

hanskamp@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-4880  |  CLA 4.704

Education   

PhD, University of California at Los Angeles

Interests

  Language and Thought, Philosophy of Language (Propositional Attitudes)

Photo of Richard P Meier

Richard P Meier

Department Chair and Professor

rmeier@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-9031  |  CLA 4.720

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Photo of Scott P Myers

Scott P Myers

Professor

s.myers@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-9032  |  CLA 4.726

Education   

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Interests

  Bantu languages

Photo of Harvey M Sussman

Harvey M Sussman

R. P. Doherty, Sr. Centennial Professorship in Communication

sussman@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-9002  |  CLA 4.730

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin (Madison)
Photo of Stephen M Wechsler

Stephen M Wechsler

Professor

wechsler@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-9026  |  CLA 4.702

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University
Photo of Anthony C. Woodbury

Anthony C. Woodbury

Professor

woodbury@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.1701  |  CLA 4.728

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley

Associate Professors

Photo of Jason M Baldridge

Jason M Baldridge

Associate Professor

jbaldrid@mail.utexas.edu  |  232-7682  |  CLA 4.738

Education   

Ph.D., University of Edinburgh

Interests

  Computational Linguistics, Syntax, Parsing, Machine Learning

Photo of John T Beavers

John T Beavers

Associate Professor

jbeavers@mail.utexas.edu  |  +1-512-232-7683  |  CLA 4.706

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford University

Interests

  Syntax, Lexical Semantics

Photo of Megan J. Crowhurst

Megan J. Crowhurst

Associate Professor

mcrowhurst@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.9027  |  CLA 4.712

Education   

Ph.D., University of Arizona
Photo of Patience L. Epps

Patience L. Epps

Associate Professor

pattieepps@austin.utexas.edu  |  512.471.9015  |  CLA 4.736

Education   

Ph.D., University of Virginia
Photo of Katrin E Erk

Katrin E Erk

Faculty

katrin.erk@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-9020  |  CLA 4.734

Education   

Ph.D., Saarland University, Germany

Assistant Professors

Photo of Colin Bannard

Colin Bannard

Assistant Professor

bannard@utexas.edu  |  471-9022  |  CLA 4.426

Education   

Ph.D., University of Edinburgh
Photo of Danny Law

Danny Law

Assistant Professor

dannylaw@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.432

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Historical Linguistics, Language Contact, Mayan Languages, Writing Systems

Photo of David Quinto-Pozos

David Quinto-Pozos

Assistant Professor

davidqp@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-9030  |  CLA 4.714

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Rajka Smiljanic

Rajka Smiljanic

Assistant Professor

rajka@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-9029  |  CLA 4.724

Education   

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Franky L Schussel

Franky L Schussel

Senior Lecturer

franky-ramont@austin.utexas.edu  |  471-1701  |  CLA 4.622

Education   

MA, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Photo of Carol L Seeger

Carol L Seeger

Senior Lecturer

cseeger@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.624

Education   

M.S., McDaniel College (formerly known as Western Maryland College)

Lecturers

David G Simmons

Lecturer

david.simmons@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.618

Photo of Deborah E White

Deborah E White

Lecturer

debbiewhite@sprint.blackberry.net  |  CLA 4.620

Education   

MA, Gallaudet University

Michael Francis Wynne Jr

Lecturer

MWynneJr@mac.com  |  CLA 4.626

Other faculty

Photo of Hans C Boas

Hans C Boas

Professor; Raymond Dickson, Alton C. Allen and Dillon Anderson Centennial Professor; Director, Linguistics Research Center; Director, Texas German Dialect Project

hcb@austin.utexas.edu  |  232-6358  |  BUR 328

Education   

Ph.D., Linguistics, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Interests

  Syntax, Lexical Semantics, Computational Lexicography, Language Contact & Variation, Contrastive Linguistics, Corpus Linguistics, Pragmatics, Morphology, Endangered Languages, Phonology

Photo of Zenzi M Griffin

Zenzi M Griffin

Faculty

griffinz@psy.utexas.edu

Education   

PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Photo of Gilbert Rappaport

Gilbert Rappaport

Professor

grapp@utexas.edu  |  512-232-9310  |  CAL 1

Education   

Ph.D., UCLA

Professors Emeriti

John Bordie

Professor Emeritus

jgbordie@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University
Photo of Robert T Harms

Robert T Harms

Professor Emeritus

harms@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-1701

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Robert King

Robert King

Audre and Bernard Rapoport Regents Chair Emeritus of Jewish Studies and Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus

rking@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Interests

  Historical linguistics; DNA and the origins of spoken language; language and politics;language and people issues.

Bjorn E Lindblom

Professor Emeritus

blindblom@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-1701

Education   

Fil dr (= Ph.D.), Lund University

Robert E Wall

Professor Emeritus

rwall@mail.utexas.edu  |  471-1701

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard University

Assistant Instructors

Leah Geer

Assistant Instructor

leah.geer@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.400M

Education   

MA, Gallaudet University

Interests

  second language acquisition, phonetics/phonology of signed languages

Aimee Lawrence

Teaching Assistant

a_meelynn@yahoo.com  |  CLA 4.700

Justin D McIntosh

Assistant Instructor

Justindmcintosh@utexas.edu  |  512-981-5809

Education   

MA, The University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Chatino, Tone, Mesoamerican Languages

Lauren Terzenbach

Assistant Instructor

lauren.terzenbach@utexas.edu  |  CLA 4.722

Education   

PhD Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin

In Memoriam

Carlota S. Smith

Professor

bottom border