Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Faculty

Core Faculty

Photo of Ari Adut

Ari Adut

Associate Professor

ariadut@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4284  |  CLA 3.518

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Ronald J. Angel

Ronald J. Angel

Professor

rangel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6315  |  CLA 3.530

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin at Madison
Photo of Javier Auyero

Javier Auyero

Professor

auyero@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8073  |  CLA 3.624

Education   

Ph.D., The New School for Social Research
Photo of John S. Butler

John S. Butler

Professor

john.butler@mccombs.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6328  |  CLA 3.606

Education   

Ph. D. 1974, Organizational Science, Statistics and Methods, Northwestern University
Photo of Ben Carrington

Ben Carrington

Associate Professor

bcarrington@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6341  |  CLA 3.734

Education   

Ph.D., 2004, Sociology, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK

Interests

  Post/colonial Theory; Sociology of Race; Cultural Sociology; Sociology of Sport, Media and Popular Culture; Cultural Studies; Masculinity and Gender Studies

Photo of Shannon E. Cavanagh

Shannon E. Cavanagh

Associate Professor

scavanagh@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8319   |  CLA 2.708A

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Mounira Charrad

Mounira Charrad

Associate Professor

charrad@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6311  |  CLA 3.526

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard

Interests

  Gender & Women's Rights; Political Sociology; Social Theory; Colonialism; Comparative-Historical Sociology; Globalization; Middle East and North Africa.

Photo of Robert Crosnoe

Robert Crosnoe

Chair and Professor of Sociology; Elsie and Stanley E. (Skinny) Adams, Sr. Centennial Professor in Liberal Arts

crosnoe@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-3255 (Chair's Office), 512-471-8329 (PRC)  |  CLA 2.406F

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford

Interests

  Human Development, Education, Family, Health, Immigration

Photo of Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Sheldon Ekland-Olson

Professor

seo@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5224 (CLA), 512-232-5879 (GEA)  |  CLA 3.614, GEA 115

Education   

Ph.D., University of Washington
Photo of Daniel Fridman

Daniel Fridman

Assistant Professor

dfridman@utexas.edu  |  512-232-4811   |  CLA 3.634

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University

Interests

  Economic Sociology; Ethnography; Sociology of Finance; Neoliberalism; Consumption; Latin America.

Photo of Jennifer Glass

Jennifer Glass

Professor

jennifer-glass@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8355  |  CLA 2.702F

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Photo of Gloria González-López

Gloria González-López

Associate Professor

gloria@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6343  |  CLA 3.504

Education   

Ph.D., University of Southern California
Photo of Mark D. Hayward

Mark D. Hayward

Director, PRC; Professor of Sociology & Centennial Commission Professor in the Liberal Arts

mhayward@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8382  |  CLA 2.622E

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington

Interests

  Life course origins of health disparities, morbidity and mortality, biodemography

Photo of Robert A. Hummer

Robert A. Hummer

Professor

rhummer@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8391  |  CLA 2.622C

Education   

Ph.D., Florida State University
Photo of William R Kelly

William R Kelly

Professor

wkelly@mail.la.utexas.edu  |  512-232-4142  |  CLA 3.512

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University Bloominton
Photo of David Kirk

David Kirk

Associate Professor

dkirk@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0141  |  CLA 2.406C

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Ken-Hou Lin

Ken-Hou Lin

Assistant Professor

lin@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-9412   |  CLA 2.702D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst
Photo of Leticia Marteleto

Leticia Marteleto

Associate Professor

marteleto@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8302  |  CLA 2.708D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan
Photo of John Mirowsky

John Mirowsky

Professor

mirowsky@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7064  |  CLA 2.622G

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Chandra L. Muller

Chandra L. Muller

Professor

cmuller@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8377  |  CLA 2.408G

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Marc A. Musick

Marc A. Musick

Professor

musick@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4271  |  GEB 2.200

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University
Photo of Pamela Paxton

Pamela Paxton

Professor

ppaxton@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6323  |  CLA 3.738

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

David Pedulla

Assistant Professor

dpedulla@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6462  |  CLA 2.702C

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Becky Pettit

Professor

bpettit@utexas.edu  |  512-471-9850  |  CLA 2.622H

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University

Interests

  Social Inequality, Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Labor Markets, Research Methods

Photo of Joseph E. Potter

Joseph E. Potter

Professor

joe@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8341  |  CLA 2.620C

Education   

Ph.D., Princeton University
Photo of Daniel A. Powers

Daniel A. Powers

Professor

dpowers@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6335  |  CLA 2.622J

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests

  Demography, Infant Mortality, Fertility, Statistics and Methods

Photo of Tetyana Pudrovska

Tetyana Pudrovska

Assistant Professor

tpudrovs@austin.utexas.edu  |  CLA 2.622D

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests

  Biodemography, Biopsychosocial Gerontology, Aging, Mortality, Cancer, Diabetes, Population Health Disparities

Photo of Kelly Raley

Kelly Raley

Professor

kelly.raley@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6333  |  CLA 2.702E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin - Madison

Interests

  Demography, Family, Race and Ethnic Relations, Education, Work Occupations and Organizations, Gender

Photo of Mark Regnerus

Mark Regnerus

Associate Professor

regnerus@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6307  |  CLA 3.524

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Bryan R. Roberts

Bryan R. Roberts

C.B.Smith Sr. Chair in US-Mexico Relations, Professor

brr@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6329  |  CLA 3.608

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Keith Robinson

Keith Robinson

Assistant Professor

keith@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8641  |  CLA 2.408J

Education   

Ph.D., 2006, Sociology, University of Michigan
Photo of Néstor P. Rodríguez

Néstor P. Rodríguez

Professor

nrodriguez@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8072  |  CLA 3.528

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Mary Rose

Mary Rose

Associate Professor

mrose@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6336  |  CLA 3.630

Education   

Ph.D., Duke University

Interests

  Juries and Jury Decision Making, Empirical Analysis of the Law, Social Psychology

Photo of Catherine E. Ross Cubbin

Catherine E. Ross Cubbin

Professor

cross@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-7064  |  CLA 2.622G

Education   

Ph.D., Yale University
Photo of Sharmila Rudrappa

Sharmila Rudrappa

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Asian American Studies

rudrappa@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6310  |  CLA 3.628

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Photo of Harel Shapira

Harel Shapira

Assistant Professor

hshapira@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8075   |  CLA 3.636

Education   

Ph.D., Columbia University
Photo of Debra J. Umberson

Debra J. Umberson

Professor

umberson@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6330  |  CLA 2.708B

Education   

Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Interests

  Gender, Marriage and Relationships, Mental Health, Health Behavior, Social Determinants of Health, Stress, Same-Sex Couples, Grief and Bereavement

Photo of Peter Ward

Peter Ward

Professor, Dept of Sociology, C. B. Smith Sr. Centennial Chair in US-Mexico Relations

peter.ward@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6319  |  CLA 3.730

Education   

Ph.D., University of Liverpool

Interests

  Academic: Housing and Governance in Mexico and Latin America. Non academic: Opera & Longhorn Football.

Photo of E. Mark Warr

E. Mark Warr

Professor

mwarr@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6317  |  CLA 3.612

Education   

Ph.D., University of Arizona

Interests

  Crime, Delinquency, Deviance.

Photo of Alexander Weinreb

Alexander Weinreb

Associate Professor

aweinreb@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0437  |  CLA 2.620E

Education   

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Interests

  Social and political demography, data collection methods, sociology of Judaism

Photo of Christine L Williams

Christine L Williams

Professor

cwilliams@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6321

Education   

Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley
Photo of Michael P Young

Michael P Young

Associate Professor

myoung@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-6331  |  CLA 3.514

Education   

Ph.D., New York University

Senior Lecturers

Photo of Penny A Green

Penny A Green

Senior Lecturer

pennygreen@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6306  |  CLA 3.602

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Interests

  Classical Sociological and Modern Evolutionary Theory, Globalization, Widening Income Inequality

Photo of Hossein Haghshenas

Hossein Haghshenas

Senior Lecturer

mehdiha@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-8064  |  CLA 3.604

Education   

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Lecturers

Photo of Emily Durden

Emily Durden

Lecturer, Health and Society

edurden@utexas.edu  |  512-232-6338  |  CLA 3.506

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Kelly Fulton

Lecturer

kgfulton@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4825  |  CLA 4.604

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

Jiwon Jeon

Lecturer

JiwonJeon@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4825  |  CLA 4.604

Education   

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Stephanie Osbakken

Lecturer

osbakken@utexas.edu  |  512-471-8452  |  CLA 4.612

Education   

Ph.D., University of Michigan

Lynette Osborne

Lecturer

LOsborne@utexas.edu  |  512-471-1533  |  CLA 4.606

Education   

Ph.D., Purdue University

Interests

  Gender, Education, Women/Minorities in STEM, Deviance, Research Methods/Statistics, Evaluation Research

Affiliated Faculty

Photo of Jacqueline L. Angel

Jacqueline L. Angel

Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

jangel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-471-2956  |  SRH 3.217

Education   

Ph.D., Rutgers University
Photo of Simone A. Browne

Simone A. Browne

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

sbrowne@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-232-5975  |  BEL241

Education   

Ph.D., 2007, Sociology and Equity Studies in Education, University of Toronto
Photo of Wenhong Chen

Wenhong Chen

Assistant Professor, Radio-Television-Film, College of Communication (Affiliated)

wenhong_chen@mail.utexas.edu  |  512-471-4952  |  CMA 6.136

Education   

Ph.D., University of Toronto
Photo of Toni Falbo

Toni Falbo

Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education (Affiliated)

toni@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-0603  |  MAI 1910

Education   

Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles
Photo of Kristine Hopkins

Kristine Hopkins

Research Assistant Professor

khopkins@prc.utexas.edu  |  512-471-8313  |  CLA 2.620D

Education   

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Photo of Yasmiyn Irizarry

Yasmiyn Irizarry

Assistant Professor, African and African Diaspora Studies Department (Affiliated)

yirizarry@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Indiana University, Bloomington
Photo of Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Catherine Riegle-Crumb

Assistant Professor, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, College of Education (Affiliated)

riegle@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-475-8642  |  MAI 2312

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Paul von Hippel

Paul von Hippel

Assistant Professor, LBJ School of Public Affairs (Affiliated)

paulvonhippel@austin.utexas.edu  |  512-537-8112  |  SRH 3.251

Education   

Ph.D., Ohio State University

Emeritus Faculty

Harley L Browning

Professor Emeritus

harleybwaldib@yahoo.com

Education   

Ph.D., University of California - Berkeley

Walter I Firey Jr

Professor Emeritus

fireyma@aol.com

Education   

Ph.D., Harvard
Photo of W. Parker Frisbie

W. Parker Frisbie

Professor Emeritus

frisbie@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Photo of Omer R. Galle

Omer R. Galle

Professor Emeritus

org@prc.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of John Higley

John Higley

Professor Emeritus

jhigley@austin.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Connecticut

Samuel D Mclemore

Professor Emeritus

Education   

Ph.D., Yale
Photo of Thomas Pullum

Thomas Pullum

Professor Emeritus; Director of Research, MEASURE DHS Project, ICF Macro

tpullum@icfi.com  |  301-572-0220 (Office), 301-572-0999 (Fax), 512-751-1176 (Cell)  |  11785 Beltsville Drive, Calverton, MD 20705

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago
Photo of Gideon A Sjoberg

Gideon A Sjoberg

Professor Emeritus

gsjoberg@mail.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Washington State
Photo of Teresa A Sullivan

Teresa A Sullivan

Professor Emeritus

tas6n@virginia.edu

Education   

Ph.D., University of Chicago

Antonio Ugalde

Professor Emeritus

augalde@mail.la.utexas.edu

Education   

Ph.D., Stanford
bottom border