Skip Navigation
UT wordmark
College of Liberal Arts wordmark
sociology masthead
Robert Crosnoe, Chair CLA 3.306, Mailcode A1700, Austin, TX 78712 • 512-232-6300

Archived News

Mon, Dec 8, 2008

Students publish in Journal of Marriage and Family

Jeremy Uecker and Charles Stokes present new findings on link between age and marriage

Mon, Dec 1, 2008

2008-9 PhD Placements

Sociology students obtain tenure-track positions at universities

Mon, Nov 17, 2008

REU spotlights

Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) Program faculty and student spotlights

Thu, Nov 13, 2008

Crime on the rise?

Public perception of crime remains out of sync with reality, criminologist contends

Mon, Nov 3, 2008

Dr Mark Regnerus featured in The New Yorker

Regnerus' research on religion, sex and teen pregnancy sheds light on important questions

Mon, Nov 3, 2008

Task force recommends gender equity plan

Gender Equity Task Force Report recommends creation of plan to eliminate faculty gender inequity

Mon, Oct 27, 2008

Fall 2008 PhD Graduate Reception highlights

Oct 23, 2008, at the Texas Natural Science Center

Wed, Oct 15, 2008

Sociology undergraduates receive Rapoport Scholarship

Mazen Elfakhani and Marcelo A Bohrt-Seeghers awarded prestigious thesis scholarship

Tue, Oct 7, 2008

Professor elected as Chair of ASA section

Professor Robert Hummer elected Chairperson of Population Section of American Sociological Association

Tue, Sep 23, 2008

Health gap between married and unmarried people narrows, study shows

Debra Umberson and Hui Liu's recent findings published in Journal of Health and Social Behavior and New York Times

Mon, Sep 15, 2008

Professor Robert Woodberry discusses his work with PAA

The Population Association of America interviews Dr Woodberry in the fall newsletter

Thu, Sep 11, 2008

Hearty congratulations go to Meredith Worthen whose outstanding work was recently recognized

Future Faculty Grants Award from the Academic Keys Foundation in the amount of $1000

Wed, Aug 27, 2008

Meet the new Sociology faculty members

The Sociology Department welcomes Javier Auyero, Nestor Rodriguez and Tetyana Pudrovska to the faculty

Thu, Aug 14, 2008

Sociology student to compete in 2008 Summer Olympics

Senior Ian Crocker to compete in Swimming in Beijing

Mon, Jul 28, 2008

Professor Ari Adut's new book out in August

Dr Adut's book, On Scandal, is part of Structural Analysis in the Social Sciences series by Cambridge

Wed, Jul 16, 2008

Graduate student receives outstanding student paper award

Jeremy Uecker receives McNamara award from ASR

Mon, Jun 23, 2008

Assistant Professor to join investigation in virtual communities

Dr Simone Browne joins Humanities, Art, Science, and Technology Advanced Collaboratory this fall

Sat, Jun 14, 2008

With age comes a sense of peace and calm, Population Research Center study shows

Professors Ross and Mirowsky publish findings Social Science and Medicine

Wed, Jun 11, 2008

Professors Muller and Umberson invited to join the Sociological Research Association

Chandra Muller and Debra Umberson new members of prestigious organization

Mon, Apr 28, 2008

Sociology Graduate Coordinator receives UT Outstanding Graduate Coordinator Award

Evelyn Porter awarded Outstanding Graduate Coordinator for 2008

Tue, Apr 22, 2008

Sociology graduate students receive University fellowships

Jeremy Uecker, Chris Pieper, Erin Hamilton each awarded a fellowship from the University

Mon, Apr 7, 2008

College of Liberal Arts: Life and Letters new issue

Winter 2007-8 issue of Life and Letters is out now

Tue, Mar 11, 2008

Photos from Sociology Recruiting 2008

The Scholz Garten Reception March 5th

Tue, Feb 19, 2008

Sociology professors featured on UT homepage

Debra Umberson, Mark Hayward, Kelly Raley, and Norval Glenn discuss their research

Fri, Jan 25, 2008

Dr Mark Regnerus featured on UT 'Take 5'

Video snapshots from university faculty offer a glimpse into lecture halls and labs across campus

Sun, Jan 13, 2008

Placements for recent PhDs

Sociology 2008 PhD graduates obtain tenure-track positions at universities

Mon, Jan 7, 2008

Professor Marc Musick's new book out

Volunteers: A Social Profile

bottom border