The University of Texas at Austin   School of Law

Main menu:

The University of Texas School of Law Wins
2004 Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court
National Championship

The University of Texas won the National Championship during the John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition held in New Orleans from March 25th through the 27th. This is the third consecutive year and the fifth time UT has been the national champion, and the first time in the history of the competition that a school has won the championship three years in a row.

UT team members Adam Harbin, Alex Kaplan and Susanna Southworth beat Tulane Law School in the final round. Adam Harbin also won the Best Advocate Awards for both the championship round and the competition. This is Adamís second national title as he was also on the 2003 championship team.

The team is coached by Chris Sapstead ('01) of Crampton & Associates. Chris is a past winner of the Royston Rayzor Vickery & Williams Award as the Best Oral Advocate in the admiralty competition.

24 teams from 15 different schools participated this year. The competition is named for one of the nation's most prominent admiralty judges, the Honorable John R. Brown who served on the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit from 1955 until his death in 1993. Each year the competition is co-sponsored by the University of Texas School of Law and a host school. Tulane Law School co-sponsored and hosted this year's competition in New Orleans.